DO Montsant

Geographical zone: The DO Montsant comprises seventeen municipalities located mainly in the Priorat district of Tarragona and also in the Ribera d’Ebre, with a total surface area of some 2,000 hectares.

Type of soil: The soil is rich in minerals, with sedimentary limestone terrains, granitic erosion sands and stony soils formed by silicic slates.

Climatic conditions: A combination of the mild Mediterranean climate and the cold of the mountains, with rainfall slightly higher than in the adjoining lands.

Types of wines: Grenache and Cariñena, the autochthonous varieties of Montsant, are the essence of its wines.

Montsant Wines

Click on a wine to discover its qualities.

Denominations of origin